Friday, April 28, 2006

Kellie's gone, Wiz down 2=1 and the Nats finally win again

By now you should know that I think Peter King is insane... but I'll still steal an idea from him. Here are 3 Things I Think:


  • Kellie deserved to go, and I didn't trust America to get rid of her. I was wrong in thinking that it would become a popularity contest, because America rightfully voted off the worst singer from the previous night. And just as I started to feel bad for Kellie, she's gone. Even Dial Idol (which had Kellie and Paris practically tied for last place) got the bottom two right so I'm thinking that means Paris is gone next week.

  • I'm a liar: I broke down and watched parts of the Wizards game. I stupidly flipped over to the game only to see a REDICULOUS loose ball foul called on the Wizards. Then LeBron goes on to do whatever he wants, not getting called for any offensive fouls and gets defended like a baby since the refs are quick to call a defensive foul if you lay a finger on him. This time, unlike game one, they lose a game they should have won. Needless to say, I'm not watching the rest of the series, because I will break my TV if I keep watching how the NBA (and it's refs) gift wrap a pass into the second round for LeBron and the Cavs.

  • I'm still optimistic about the Nats and it's almost May. Once again the only game I can see at home ends up being the Friday night games on Channel 20. Well, things started off well as the Nats take an early lead and don't seem inclined to give it up (like previous games). But of course all can't be as it seems, as I find out that my homie, John Patterson, is headed to the disable list. As Tony the Tiger would say: Grrrrrr-eat! (although he lacks my not so subtle sarcasm)

    But I shouldn't complain, since the Nats won. Now they're only 1.5 games out of second place in the NL East and 7.5 out of first. Not bad considering the tough time they've been having this season.

Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Wizards win and Nats lose on Idol night

The Nats lost another one-run game, but I'm still optimistic... In an iffy kind of way. So that means I'll probably be changing my tune by May.

At least the Wizards leave Cleveland tied at 1-1. Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately (since I don't think my TV enjoys me yelling at it), I didn't watch the game. I still feel the Cavs (and LeBron in particular) will keep getting the calls even away from Cleveland, so maybe I won't watch the next game either. Really, this weeks results and considering my superstitious side, that might be a good thing.

Finally, Idol was tonight and since I was cooking, I missed most of it. I entirely missed Katharine and Elliott. I started watching with Kellie (who sadly sucked it up again). Taylor was his usual darn good self and Paris was her usual stiff forced smile self. But I want to harp on Chris.

I have constantly complained of Chris's "forced raspy" and "unnatural" singing voice. Well, someone (today's guest star: Andrea Bocelli and some other guy I don't know) FINALLY pointed this out! I have been complaining about that this whole time and I am surprised it too so long to come up. But he has done admirably not using that "head voice," although he did slip back into it in tonight's otherwise great performance.

Alas, I still don't like him and am thinking he'll end up in the bottom three. And since it's gotten to the point where singing doesn't matter as much (since everyone, except for Kellie, is singing extremely well) charisma is going to go far. Taylor and Kellie have it, and the rest really don't. Katharine (from the short montage) seemed to do really well, so she seems safe... So that leaves Chris, Paris and Elliott in the bottom three.

Sadly, I think it's finally time for my other favorite, Elliott, to go. Not that I want him to go (I'ld RATHER it be Chris or secondly Paris) but it seems he just doesn't have the backing.

Saturday, April 22, 2006

My Worlds of Sports - Nats win and the Wizards get "officially" screwed

Since I live in DC (and I get Comcast, which is still not playing MASN... yet another reason I hate Comcast) and since the Nats have only played 4 home games (2 of which were afternoon games) I have only been able to see 2 Nats games all season.

The first was a horribly dissapointing 5-3 loss to the Marlins a week ago friday (They started the first inning by scoring 3 runs and fell asleep for the rest of the game) and last night's exciting rain delayed 3-7 win against John Smoltz and the Braves (In which my favorite player, John Patterson who coincidentally wears #22, pitched excellently only to get a no decision on a couple of unlucky plays.)

So maybe I don't have a great perspective, but I'm still looking forward to the rest of the season. I don't see why at least 70 wins isn't possible. Sure they haven't started out all that well, but don't forget this: First, unlike last year they've been pretty unlucky in the close games. Second, only 3 of their first 16 games have been at home. (Sure, they lost those 3 games, and bad, but they played a hot Mets team.) Second, they're hitting, they're just not scoring runs... so that's fixable. So maybe I'm just overly optimistic because of last night, but thats not bad.

Now on to something I'm not optimistic about. As I type this the Wizards are losing to the Cavaliers, 59-41. The entire game has reminded my of why I really don't like watching the NBA (but of course I still do it)... The officiating SUCKS! It's terrible! I spend the entire time yelling at a glass box in my living room, and that is just pitiful. The worst thing is that star players (like LeBron James, in this game) get WAY too many calls. He gets a blocking foul anytime he runs in to someone.( Sure the Wizards aren't rebounding or playing defense all that well, but Cleveland isn't playing 18 points better.)

Sure, officiating can be bad in other sports (see this years Super Bowl, for instance) but since one star player can affect a game so much in the NBA, officials can really win or lose a game for a team. And I'm getting the feeling the Wizards might be a victim of the NBA's need to have LeBron James do well in his first playoff appearance.

Wednesday, April 19, 2006

Ace is low and Top Chef

Once again, Dial Idol got it right, calling Chris, Paris and Ace in the bottom three. I didn't think Chris would drop but I was wrong, and Elliott was safe. So all is good in the land of reality TV...

Well, maybe not everything. A few weeks ago Top Chef took Project Runway's spot on Wednesday nights. I tried watching but I just couldn't get over a few things. First, most people watching TV can hear (American Idol) and see (Project Runway) things, but you can't taste food. Second, the host, Katie, was REALLY annoying (she seems too disinterested) and I just didn't like the judges, Gail and Tom. (Although, to be honest, I have grown to like Tom)

So I would sometimes catch the replays (Bravo does that alot) and eventually I started to watch it after the Idol results show. But (just like the Project Runway finale) I'm disappointed with the results of the last show.

In tonights episode there were 6 chefs left: Miguel (A big "teddy bear"-type of guy potrayed as somewhat of a dolt), Stephen (A young snobish wineloving fop who insists on condescendingly "educating" his customers), Dave (A slightly effeminate middle aged entrepreneur type), Tiffani (A heavyset, not very likeable bully with the most "high-end professional chef" experience of all the contestants), Lee Anne (Tiffani's twin: just as big, just as mean and just as unlikeable) and Harold (The most normal of the bunch and my favorite).

So two teams were formed: Blue (Miguel, Stephen and Lee Anne) and Red (Dave, Tiffani and Harold) and each team had to come up with a restaurant concept. Naturally Tiffani and Lee Anne took over for each team and the Red team ends up winning. A chef from the Blue team would take the fall and the judges decided Miguel had to go. He was criticized for mostly not speaking up and conforming too easily to role of sous chef and not "Top Chef." Good points... but the show is called "Top Chef" right? Not "Pushy Overbearing Loathsome Chef."

According to the host, the Blue team lost mainly because customers waited too long for their meals. That was entirely Stephen's fault as he once again insisted on explain instead of serving food. But Lee Anne CLEARLY took the role of "Top Chef" on the team and failed... so the judges decided to kick the sous chef off? In other words, you could put a turd on a plate and serve it while insulting your client's mother but you'll be safe as long as you took control of the team.

Sure they're looking for the Top Chef but, when you put them into teams, positions need to be taken. You can't have three Top Chefs on a single team (there's even a saying about that!). There NEEDS to be a sous chef, and you shouldn't be punished for accepting that role. Doing that doesn't mean you can't lead a kitchen, it just means you are willing to not rock the boat. Call me crazy, but on a show called "Top Chef", when you lead a kitchen and fail you should be held accountable.

Lee Anne wasn't. And the person mostly responsible for the loss (Stephen) wasn't held accountable either. Thats pretty weird considering that, on the Red team, Dave won the prize by not taking the "Top Chef" role. He was Stephen's equivalent working the "front end/service" side of the restaurant.

Once again, I'm dissapointed by the judges on a reality show... oh well, I go cry on my pillow now.

Tuesday, April 18, 2006

American Idol... my return

Because of my life away from TV, I’ve missed the past few American Idols… but alas, not tonight. So Rod Stewart is visiting and I’m already bored by him. Anyways, this should be an exercise in futility since Ace has got to go. But we’ll see what "American wants." Once again most of my comments are written as they sing (except for the rating, I fill that in at the end).

Chris - Very Good. By far, his best performance of the competition. It probably deserved a “Great” but he ruined it by throwing that annoying throaty voice half way through. Aside from that he definitely sang well.

Paris – Above average. Wore a strange orange/red suit. It’s good but not outstanding. I’m thinking Simon is going to call it a lounge-ish performance... but I’m entirely wrong: He loves it, and I’m now suspicious that he is drinking from Paula’s “Special Cup.” Oh, and Rod Stewart is nutsies for comparing her to Billie Holiday. Paris has a great voice but it’s NOT soulful like Holiday’s.

Taylor – Above average. Taylor is still one of my two favorites but his beginning is a little flat... disappointing at first but he definitely pulls it out in the end. I’m giving him an "above average" since I know he could do better. Simon puts it well saying "lame caberet, and then magic!"

Elliott – Very Good. So now I’m thinking the "standards" theme makes for a rough beginning from our contestants... but Elliott pulls it off outstandingly at the end. (BTW, why is Mimi Rogers there?) Simon says he is concerned... which is good because it should encourage people to vote for Elliott.

Kellie – Below Average. “Has got some personality. She’s a firecracker...” and “She’s bubbly, a lot of personality.” You would think those were good things, but you should have seen how deadpan Rod Stewart delivered those lines. Kellie is probably the worst of all the strained beginnings we’ve seen. Her voice got way too nasally... and wow! Was she flat on those notes at the end! “Uhhh... yeah.” Is Randy’s first comment, and that is putting it nicely. And for the first time, I feel bad for her when she said “I’m sorry” and “I won’t put you through the torture.” Ugh... I'm actually liking the "Minx."

Ace – Below Average. Well, at least Rod thinks he is “brilliant”... and WOW, he’s very creepy looking in that suit and hair in a pony tail. He’s pitchy (as Randy loves to say)... and he’s not getting better. Finishes off with a quivering lip/voice to hide the fact that he can’t hold a note. Oh and btw, saying that your falsetto voice is your money voice should not be a complement. And Simon is seriously drinking Auntie Paula’s Happy Juice when he calls Ace’s performance “charming.” (I can only hope that precipitates his impending demise by not encouraging people to vote for him.)

Katharine – Great. Singing a song I just have never liked but is pulling it off pretty well. Oooh, held that note a little too long, but is doing extremely well. I actually agree with Rod that she is made to sing theses types of songs.

So my best to worst: Katharine, Chris, Elliott, Taylor, Paris, Kellie and Ace. I don’t think Kellie will be in the bottom 3, although she deserves it, since she is so popular. Elliot is not as popular as Taylor so that should put Elliott, Paris and Ace in the bottom. We can only hope justice prevails and Ace heads home.

Google Calendar

Maybe you have heard the grumblings about Google becoming the next Microsoft. Well, considering how great I think gmail is and now that I have set up my Google Calendar I don't have a problem with them. So to use a good old Simpson reference: I, for one, would like to welcome our not-so-new overlords of the internet.

Why do I like Google's Calendar? Well first and foremost these two features: 1. Its free. And 2. it has sms alerts for your events... That means you can have event reminders text-messaged to your cell phone for free. That means alot to me because the fact that reminders never reached me was the biggest reason I never used a software calendar like iCal or Outlook. Too often I found myself logging on to my computer to be reminded, after the fact, that there was something I wanted to see on TV or that I wanted to bid on something on ebay.

That meant I needed something mobile, but I didn't like Palm and Pocket PCs. They are too bulky (don't fit comfortably in my pockets), have terrible battery lives (Heck, I'm lucky if I remember to recharge my phone) and they can lose data too easily. Since I practically always have my cell phone with me, it would have to be my solution. But most cell phones with good planner/calendars were too complicated (needed to buy a USB cable, didn't work with Macs, etc.), were too expensive and were, sometimes, just a big as a Palm (like the Pocket PC/cell phones).

So text messaging is a good solution... and you can get programs (like SMS Mac) that allow your iCal to text you event reminders. But you need to make sure your computer is on and connected to the internet. Google, however, is always on. (And, sure, there are other calendar programs online, but remember point #1 in this post? Google Calendar is free.) And finally... if you just NEED to use iCal or Outlook, Google Calendar lets you export your calendar, besides I'm sure someone will have an iCal/Google Calendar sync extension up pretty soon. So really... What else can you ask for?

Thursday, April 13, 2006

Idol and Death Cab

I've lost my internet connection at home so that is mostly why my posts have been more erratic than usual.

Bucky is gone... but I'm willing to bet that Ace wasn't too far back in the voting. In fact, I think it's practically a sure thing Ace is gone next week.

Anyways, I was at the Death Cab for Cutie concert on tuesday night when something occured to me. The opening act was a band called The Cribs... and I am pretty sure their lead singer would have been ridiculed by even Paula on American Idol. Anyways, it was a pretty damn good show, but I was disappointed they didn't play "Brothers on a Hotel Bed." Oh well, all the idiots who like to scream during the quiet songs would have ruined it anyways.

Oh and remember Lollapalooza? I thought it had died out a few years ago when they tried to revive it and failed miserably by, in essence, charging way too much. Well apparently it's still not dead as it became a one day festival in Chicago last year. That festival seemed to have done well enough that they're doing it again this year. The bands are all pretty much the same: alt/indie's from today (Death Cab, The Shins, The New Pornographers, Iron & Wine, Eels, Built to Spill, Matisyahu), alt/indie's from yesterday (Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Flaming Lips, Blues Traveler, Reverend Horton Heat, Nada Surf). Considering how "unethnic" (for lack of a better word) the lineup is you would expect a few artists such as Manu Chao, Common and Blackalicious. What I didn't expect was to see Kanye West in the lineup!

This guy practically cleaned up on Grammys back in February and now hes doing what, in essence, is a second-rate festival?

Thursday, April 06, 2006

Worse than Watergate

I had thought that George Bush was so far enough removed from decision making in the White House that he would be able to avoid the many scandals of his administration and his party. But apparently Scooter Libby (remember him?) said that Bush approved the CIA leaks.

All these things coming out about the Bush administration make John Dean's book title, Worse than Watergate, seem tame. Is there any doubt that if Richard Nixon were alive today he would be punch-a-baby-in-the-face mad that he had to resign because such lesser charges?

Wednesday, April 05, 2006

Mandisa going home and it's "Unanimous"?

One of the best voices on Idol has been shotdown by a bad theme and a terrible song. I didn't watch last night so I don't know how bad the song was yesterday but tonight it was pretty bad.

What surprised me is that DialIdol predicted Mandisa going home. In fact, they got the bottom three (Paris, Elliott and Mandisa) exactly right. (Last week they got Bucky and Katharine being in the bottom three right, but missed on Lisa going home). It's disappointing but almost expected. She had the voice but not much else.

Anyways, now I'm watching "Unanimous" and it is amazingly annoying... like "Deal or No Deal." Both shows end on "cliffhangers" where you won't know what is in a suitcase or who is castoff unless you watch the next episode. Well that might have worked back in the 1950s when there were only 3 networks to chose from, but nowadays there are hundreds of other things to watch. Does this even work? I personally have missed the resolution of both cliffhanger that I have seen, so it's definitely not working with me.

Sunday, March 26, 2006

George Friggin Mason on to the Final Four

What can I say but "wow."

I unfortunately didn't watch the game, so I am now kicking myself. Apparantly it was an awesome game and according to deadspin, Jim Calhoun wasn't crying up a storm like he was in the Washington game. (He was actually complaining about having to play an "away" game against the Patriots on Saturday.)

So it's great to see a local team do good and (I might be making this up) be the first Virginia team to make the NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four. Not that Virginia is a collegiate basketball powerhouse, but the Virginia Beach area has had it's share of good/great players.

So in keeping with my doubting (reverse karma) posts allow me to say this: There is no way Mason is getting by Florida right? They'ld have to beat a team on a roll (SEC Tournament Champions) with a "media darling" in Joakim Noah on April Fool's Day. That just can't happen, right?

edit: Virginia made it to the Final Four in 1981, and I should have said Division I Final Four since, for instance, DII has seen Virginia Union there the past few years. Still you would have thought Virginia Tech (or even Richmond or Old Dominion) had a better chance to get to the Final Four before George Mason did.

Saturday, March 25, 2006

Little Kevin is gone and Mason is still alive

* Fortunately DialIdol was wrong, Elliot is safe and Kevin is gone. I have to say that after all that anti-Kevin talk, I'm gonna miss him. I'll miss my weekly ritual of making fun of his awkward moves and subpar voice. Now we only have Taylor's quirks (although I won't be saying too many negative words about him considering I like him and he can actually sing) and Chris's fake raspy "rock star" voice to mock.

Have I mentioned how I don't like Chris's singing voice because it's annoyingly fake in a John Mayer kind of way? (That is to say, his singing voice isn't natural in comparison to his talking voice.) I have? Well, I think it bears mentioning again now that Kevin is gone.

Oh and enough people have visited this site looking for either the name of, words to, artist of or something about the "bad day" song played when American Idol contestants are kicked off the show. The song is, shockingly, called "Bad Day" by Daniel Powter on the soon to be released album, Daniel Powter. Although considering it's the number one downloaded song on iTunes, you should already know this. If you want the lyrics, they can be found here, but be sure to have a popup blocker for that site.

* Remember how I slighted the Missouri Valley Conference by pointing out that Southern Illinois and Northern Iowa lost in the first round, and that Bradley was the only team that impressed me. Well, I'm not trying to slight George Mason, but they got lucky in having to play Wichita State. Like I said last week, Wichita State got lucky playing a terrible Seton Hall team (that shouldn't have been there) and then they had a hard time getting by a very overated #2 Tennessee team.

Don't get me wrong, I'm a homer, so I'm rooting for Mason. I just don't see how they'll get by UConn, especially after watching the UConn/Washington game last night. Not only is UConn a good team, but they get favorable calls all night. The refs were constantly putting UConn on the line, and consequently 2 or 3 Washington players fouled out in overtime. UConn might have gotten the game into overtime on ability/merit (with Rashad Anderson's multiple killer 3s), but they definitely got some help from the refs in overtime. It's actually "Duke scary," how many calls UConn gets. Apparantly, Jim Calhoun knows how to work the Refs to perfection... So good luck Mason.

Wednesday, March 22, 2006

American Idol: 11-10... say it ain't so!

So I've ODed on Idol of late and didn't do commentary, and now I've got a good reason. According to DialIdol.com, Bucky, Lisa and Elliot are in the bottom three... AND Elliot is supposedly in last place. If that's true, this show is a joke! argghh.... We'll see in a few minutes.

Sunday, March 19, 2006

And the hits just keep on coming!

Tom Cruise's character in A Few Good Men, Daniel Kaffee, is one of my all-time favorite movie characters. Beautifully written and perfectly overacted, Kaffee is bright and witty... as great a character as Charlie Babbitt, but infinitely more likeable.

Anyways, right after JoAnne (Demi Moore) tells him that she's going to Cuba with them, Kaffee mubles to himself, "and the hits just keep on coming!" He said it in an annoyed way, meaning "hits" in the bad sense of the word (not in the good radio music "hits" sense). I'm using it both sense.

First, "hits" in bad sense: So the Terps ended their season with an underwhelming performance against Manhattan in the NIT. They didn't want to be there and it showed, yielding more points in the first half then they have all season (and this is a team that played Duke, the 3rd highest scoring offense in the nation, 2 times this year). They probably didn't deserve to be in the NCAA tournament but neither did Air Force, Utah State, Seton Hall and probably Northern Iowa.

I also don't see what all the talk and hype about the Missouri Valley Conference was. Creighton and Missouri State might have gotten screwed, but the teams that got in aren't exactly shining. Southern Illinois and Northern Iowa didn't make it into the weekend, both losing their first games. Wichita State has had an easy trip into the Sweet Sixteen playing a team that should have been in the NIT (Seton Hall) and beating the worst #2 seed (Tennessee which lost 4 of it's last 6 games going into the tourney). Only Bradley has been impressive. (side note: I'm watching them against Pitt as I type this, and Cindy points out that it says "Brad Pitt" where the scores are shown. Of course she notices that...)

Second, "hits" in the good sense: I can't begin to tell you how happy I am that Terrell Owens is a Cowboy.

It makes them that much more unlikeable. (side note: on my old site I used to have a bunch of lists, including the unlikeable sports teams like the Cowboys, Duke, and the Lakers. I'll bring that back soon.) Plus, although he's a very good player, Dallas needs alot more help to be a good team... so the break/blow up is much more imminent than it was in Philly. (And it only took about a year and half there)

So the Cowboys have added a cancer to their team, and I can't help but laugh. Earlier in the off season, know-it-all sportswriters (I'm looking at you Peter King) claimed that the Redskins would be making a play for Owens. The Skins, wisely, didn't go near him. And now the Cowboys get to deal with him.

But I guess Cowboy fans could try to be optimistic. Maybe T.O. really has changed. Maybe he has learned his lesson. Maybe the third team is the charm. Maybe Owens needs a tough coach like Bill Parcells. Maybe Owen's agent, Drew Rosenhaus, wasn't lying when he said "There was so much interest in Terrell, there was no reason to do anything but that kind of deal." (refering to the unprotected contract Owens got from the Cowboys) Maybe Owens will be satisfied with playing on a worse team than Philly. Yeah... maybe... keep hoping.

Wednesday, March 15, 2006

American Idol Final 12: The first cut (isn't the deepest)

Sorry about the cheesy joke.

Anyways, I was at the Wizards/Bobcats game (Wizards won 107-99) so I didn't get to see tonight's American Idol. But I was happy to find out that I was right... Melissa is gone.

Apparently, though, that wasn't the juicy part. The fact that Ace and Lisa were in the bottom 3 was. The even juicier fact was that DialIdol.com predicted it. Apparently, they figured it out by "measuring the busy signal" for each contestant. Pretty freakin smart I say. But it was a little too smart for American Idol. They sent DialIdol a cease and desist letter. Exactly what the did wrong I don't know but it sure sounds frivolous.

So I get to say I was right about Melissa (and a whole week early at that) and now we get to look forward to a couple of interesting upcoming weeks.

Tuesday, March 14, 2006

American Idol: The Final 12

Remember my first rule of American Idol? It stated ""Never, under any circumstances, do a Stevie Wonder song" and I recently ammended it to "Never, under any circumstances, do a Stevie Wonder song, unless you're name is Elliot." I guess the rule doesn't apply this week since everyone HAD to do a Stevie Wonder song. And the good thing about that is that since everyone has to sing tough songs, it evens out the field.

So this week I won't comment on everyone, I'll just throw out a few comments:

  • This is when contestants seems to get rediculous stylists, makeup artists, etc. to help them form an image. Some girls start wearing dresses (Melissa), some guys wear suits (Taylor) and Kevin wears makeup... that is to say things get interesting.
  • Elliot kinda disappointed me until the end of his song. Nonetheless, he is still one of my favorites along with Taylor and Mandisa.
  • Kevin. Wow. I'll agree with everyone in saying that he's cute, but does anyone seriously think this kid is American Idol material? The only purpose I see for him is as a sort of "broom wagon." (If you're not familiar with the broom wagon, it is a vehicle that follows the racers in a cycling race. It, in essence, marks the end of the race, if it catches up to you, you're out of the race.) In other words, if you can't be more interesting then Kevin, you better have one darn good voice because he'll catch up to you in "interestingness."
  • This can no longer be just a rumor: Katharine McPhee HAS to be pregnant. Why else would she wear a dress that looks like a muumuu?
  • I am, for once, not annoyed by Chris' voice. He didn't force that raspy voice and he did a great job of combining the original and the Chili Pepper's version of "Higher Ground."
Finally, I still think Melissa should be gone. She sung better this week but so did most everyone else. So maybe we'll be surprised this week...

Sunday, March 12, 2006

Flavor does not disappoint!

The season finale of Flavor Flav has come and it was classic. If you tivo-ed it and don't want me to ruin it for you... stop reading now.

Contrary to the rumor that New York would win, Flavor sent New York packing telling her "Ima roll with Hoopz." At first, New York played it off valiantly (as she had promised Flav she would still love him if he picked Hoopz) but she then broke down crying in the limo as she left. As Hoopz stated things she was thinking ("I hope New York is crying her eyes out" and "She's probably drinking herself into a coma") the producers obliged and showed New York doing exactly those things. Hoopz actually seemed to enjoy sending New York home crying more than she enjoyed her win. You just can't blame her.

New York was annoying and cocky, and the producers made sure you knew it by playing each instance New York said something arrogant (which was alot). So it was nice to, as New York said, see "good vs. evil." (although, I'm fairly certain she thought of herself as good and Hoopz as evil) It was nice to see things go the way they did. It was nice to see, after the Project Runway debacle, that all is good in the world of Reality TV.

Redskins free agency, the Terps, and the Wizards

So many things have happened in DC area sports in the past few days:

Redskins News:
LaVar Arrington was released. It's no secret that I am a big Arrington fan, so this move bothers me. But I'm willing to believe, for now, that this is for the better. What is making me optimistic is that in the first day of free agency, they're already making moves I'm liking. Signing Brandon Lloyd and going after Antwaan Randle El, Andre Carter, and Adam Archuleta are great starts. Lloyd should be an EXCELLENT No. 2 wideout behind Santana Moss.

Maryland Terrapins:
My beloved Terps lost ugly on friday night to Boston College in the ACC Tournament. They needed that win to pretty much assure a trip to NCAA tournament, and they came up short and looked bad doing it. After more than about a decade of NCAA tourney trips, the Terps will most likely, be playing in the NIT for 2 years in a row... that sucks.

Wizards:
The Detroit Pistons have lost all of 12 times this year. Two of those times have been to the Wizards, including last nights 110-92 drubbing at the newly christen Verizon Center. Now, since I'm talking about them, they'll probably lose to the Bobcats on Tuesday.

Friday, March 10, 2006

Flavor of Love Finale

Now that the Project Runway finale has disappointed me, I now get disappointed by one of my other favorite shows, "Flavor of Love." The finale is this Sunday night at 10, but it appears things aren't as they might seem. (I know, I know... I shouldn't expect reality from "Reality TV".)

First a little background in case you haven't been watching: Flavor Flav has a TV show called "Flavor of Love" on VH1. Basically, it's "The Bachelor" with Flavor Flav as the bachelor. At the beginning of the show Flav gave each girl a nickname (Applez, Goldie, Peaches, etc.) and so far, 18 girls have not recieved a clock (been eliminated). There are now two girls left: Hoopz, a young, sporty and generally likeable girl and New York, a downright evil, conceited older lady.

Interesting enough so far, but I've yet to get to the good part. In the last show, three contestants remained. Hoopz had received her clock, and it was becoming apparent that Pumkin (yes spelled without the other 'p') was going to lose out to New York for the final clock. New York and Pumkin start arguing, and as Pumkin leaves she spits a big loogie in New York's face. New York goes postal and literally claws at Pumkin. Pumkin gets away and New York starts chasing her. Eventually they're separated, Pumkin leaves crying and New York gets her clock while vowing to get back at Pumkin.

A debacle of a show, but interesting nonetheless. But now Brooke Thompson (Pumkin's real name) says that she knew she was getting eliminated and was asked by producers to provide a "big ending." She also says the spit was digitally enhanced. Maybe she's lying, but she sure did look like she knew she wasn't getting a clock at the beginning of the elimination round.

It's the equivalent of finding out the Easter Bunny isn't real... just disappointing (but not a "Santa Claus isn't real" level disappointment). What's even more disappointing is that rumor has it that New York wins. Oh well, they're showing the whole season this Sunday starting at 2 PM and ending in with the finale at 10 PM... rest assured I'll be watching at 10.

American Gothic visits DC

American Gothic, the classic early 20th century American painting, by Grant Wood is making it's first visit in 40 years to our fair city.

So if you live in the DC area, make sure you head to the Rewick Gallery to check it out. If you haven't been to the Renwick keep this in mind: it is part of the Smithsonian, so admission is free, but it is not on the Mall. It is on Pennsylvania Avenue, right next to the White House, so parking is a pain. Oh yeah and it is open seven days a week from 10:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (and yes, I looked the hours up, I didn't know that off the top of my head)

Thursday, March 09, 2006

American Idol: Down to 12

Like last week, we get "treated" to a former American Idol contestant but this time it's Bo Bice. His perfomance was good but his singing was below his norm. He still sounded much better than this season's batch of "rockers" (Chris and Bucky) though.

Time for the eliminations: They decide to go back to the week 1 format where they knock off the people with the lowest number of votes first. But this time Ryan doesn't tell the everyone else that they are "safe." Instead he simply says "You do not have the lowest number of votes." But Kinnik and Will have the lowest number of votes and end up in the "You had a bad day" montage.

I expected Kinnik to be leaving but I thought Will would be helped by his youth and because he didn't suck as much as Kevin. (Although I had him in my bottom 2.) Unfortunately for Will, he couldn't garner the following Kevin has.

In another surprise, Ayla ends up leaving and has the toughest time singing her song. Ayla was definitely better than Melissa, so now I'm wish I could put some money on Melissa being the first person to leave next week.

Finally, Gedeon along with his weird smile and painting are gone. I guess America would rather see Chicken Little do his creepy Chuck E. Cheese anamatronic performance for at least another week.

So I went 2-2, on a bad read (Kevin surviving instead of Will) and a surprise (Melissa beating out Ayla)... oh well you can't win them all (And yes I know that's the title of Chapter 1 in that great book called "Things Losers Say.")